Watching movies

Today, I will talk about the characteristics of Japanese movies and introduce some movies I personally recommend.

Japanese movies are characterized by a high level of animation and there are a lot of movies based on comics, but I would like you to know that they were highly acclaimed around the world before looking at these posters.

If anything, Japanese films are often highly praised at European film festivals, and it can be said that there are few flashy action films like Hollywood movies, but especially in masterpiece movies, Japanese Wabi - sabi can be found here and there.

* Wabi - sabi means to appreciate Japanese aesthetic sensibilities that comes with age, which represents beauty and serenity within simplicity or imperfection.

 

I believe it is a very effective and fun way for learning Japanese, and at the same time, you ought to learn about Japanese history, culture, customs and so on.

 

This time, I will introduce three Japanese movies that I personally enjoyed.

* Click on the title to see more details.

* Click the image to see the movie trailer.

As with music, there are individual differences in tastes, so I hope you watch as many Japanese movies as possible and see them again and again, so that you would be able to drastically improve your Japanese.

 

For your information, in the movie I introduced (1) Black Widow Business many people speak with an Osaka accent, the people in (2) The Kiyosu Conference speak with a Nagoya accent and those in (3) Departures have little dialogue, so I am afraid that one won’t be as useful for learning Japanese.